BUSINESSTRIP SURVIVAL GUIDE: mommies away from home

Last month we had a team meeting. We were almost at the end when my boss casually says “You are going to Japan. Did I mention that already?” My eyes turned wide and I was gasping for air. Japan?? That is a 12 hour flight (read about my fear of flying here) and wait..how long will I be away from home/my Mini? Then the upside started to dawn on me. Tokyo is pretty exciting. I am happy with the decision (sort of…).

I am guessing every mommy finds it hard to travel. So how do you handle businesstrips? Last week I went to Rotterdam for a few days. Here is what I learnt and some tips & tricks for other mommies.

  1. PENCIL IN SOME SERIOUS QUALITY TIME

An empty schedule: no going to the gym, having coffee with friends, or grocery shopping by myself. I make sure that the days before and after the trip contain a lot of quality time with the Mini. It feels good to focus fully on her. And of course there is a lot of extra hugging and kissing (from me, the Mini tries to squirm free).

2. FLIP THE SWITCH

When I get into my car, I “flip the switch”. I don’t ask myself questions like “should I be going”/ “will she miss me”/ “am I not leaving for too long”. The decision is made. I am going and there is no reason to dwell on it. Believe me: it helps.

3. ME-TIME IS LOTS OF FUN

Being away also means there is a lot of me-time. Here are just some of the perks. You get to go shopping carefree. Usually meetings and conferences start around 9 and your hotel is close by. That means you can sleep in (who knew sleeping until 8 counts as sleeping in…). You can go to the hotel gym or spa. Be crazy: maybe you can even go again. Meet up with friends (if there are any around), have a nice relaxed diner, take a bath and read a magazine. Anything is possible when you have so much time for yourself.

4. PACK LIGHT

There is no reason to get all worked up about what to take and what not. It saves time and your back will be grateful. If you really need to prepare well, here is a 3-step guide on how to pack light.

5. LOOK AT PICTURES AND VIDEOS

For these really difficult moments when you can only imagine the Mini’s little face and you feel sad: just rewatch all those old videos and pictures (and you know there are many on yout phone). It will make you laugh and feel better.

Any other tips from fellow mommies? Leave a comment below.

I have also wrote other posts on this topic like my trip to Rome (here) and London (here).

FLOOR

 

 

Geef een reactie

