LET’S TALK MONEY: how much I spend on my wardrobe

How much do you spend on fashion? It is a simple question but kind of hard to answer. I used to only count the “big expenses” like jeans, tops and sweaters. But what if you include everything like underwear, sports clothes, bags, shoes, jewellery? And more importantly, do you always stay within your budget or do you overspend? Or perhaps you are the type of person that is able to save extra money every month? Below an honest account of my spending. 

BUYING LESS…?

Loyal readers know I have a capsule wardrobe and try to buy less items of better quality. Since I started the whole minimalism journey, I indeed buy less clothes. I almost never shop at H&M (I don’t really like the fit of the items) and rarely at other big chains like Mango, Forever 21 and Topshop. Zara is still the exception. I don’t buy a lot of items there but a few times a year I still shop online or in their Maastricht store.

On average I buy around 3-5 pieces every month. My favourite store is FEE Conceptstore. They have a selection of great (mostly Scandinavian) brands like Won Hundred, Samsoe Samsoe, Selected Femme, House of Dagmar, Cheap Monday and Tiger of Sweden.  All my sports clothes are from Nike. What can I say, I just love the brand. I am very particular about bags and buy them very rarely (maybe once a year). I don’t wear a lot of jewellery but I do love The Boyscouts. Also I  love the french brands Maje, The Kooples and Sandro.

KEEPING A BUDGET

I value my budget a lot (really a lot). On average I am allowed to spend 450 Euros a month. I do not always stick to it every  month but at the end of the year I always stay within the budget. It seems like a lot but in practice this just works for me. This means I have 1350 Euro per seasonal capsule wardrobe. I spend a lot on trousers and shoes: they are usually quite expensive. Also sports shoes & clothes, a bikini and undergarments make up for some of the budget. This year I especially spent a lot on shape wear because of the bump I had after giving birth.

HOW TO SPEND LESS

QUIT SHOPPING- When  I am spending too much money, I sometimes quit shopping for 1 month or more. This gives me time to reflect and see what it is I really need to add to my wardrobe. It is also really helpful for people who have a mild shopping addiction (maybe… a little bit..).

SALES, SALES, SALES- Sales is a really good time to buy the best additions to your wardrobe for a good price. If you really know what you want to have, for example a white midi skirt, this is a really good time to buy a classic, timeless piece. However, if you use sales to browse and buy whatever you like, you might end up with lots of impulse buys that you already own. For example, you buy a little black dress but forget you already own 5 others.

GET TO KNOW YOUR STYLE AND GOALS- I am a huge fan of minimalist bloggers like Into Mind of The Minimalists. The morale of the story: when you really know your style and your life goals, you tend to spend less on stuff you do not need. Powerful stuff and it helps. You might ask, why does she still spend so much on fashion? The simple answer: I love it. I love my wardrobe and I love my clothes. This is one of the things that makes me happy.

I tried to find posts from other bloggers talking about the same topic but I was unsuccessful so far. So what about you? How much do you spend every month? Do you even know? Do you have a budget? I am really curious so please leave a comment.

XOXO

Floor

 

 

 

3 gedachtes over “LET’S TALK MONEY: how much I spend on my wardrobe

  1. Wat ik maandelijks uitgeef aan kleding, schoenen, e.d.? Nou… ik geloof een bedrag van om en nabij de 5 euro! Mijn kledingkast bevat eigenlijk al veel meer dan ik nodig heb en zo soms kan ik voor een appel en een ei iets echt heel leuks op de kop tikken in de kringloop, of op de markt. Ik vind ook heel veel leuke dingen, gewoon op straat. En ik krijg ze ook vaak van anderen. Dat komt goed uit, want winkelen is niet bepaald mijn meest favoriete hobby! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  2. Ik heb geen budget en ik kan zo twee maanden helemaal niks kopen en dan in een week tijd weer veel. Ik koop veel minder tegenwoordig en daar ben ik blij mee. Als ik een stuk kleding zie waar ik pats boem verliefd op word dan MOET ik het in huis halen ๐Ÿ˜‰ dan laat ik het echt niet gaan.

    Like

Geef een reactie

