MOMMY READS LENNY: Another reason why Jennifer Lawrence rocks

It is hard not to like Jennifer Lawrence. She falls off the stage or stumbles on the red carpet. She freaks out over meeting other celebrities on live television,is incredibly talented and swears a lot. In interviews she says anything that comes to mind. You can easily imagine going out for a beer with her. Odds are she can hold her licquor better than you. I am totally girl crushing here but she is awesome. This week she posted an essay that again emphasizes how cool she is in the Lenny letter (more about that below). The topic: “Why Do I Make Less Than My Male Co‑Stars?” It is an absolute must-read in my opinion and that is why this blogpost is dedicated to her. 

ABOUT THE LENNY LETTER

The Lenny letter is a project by Lena Dunham and her co-writer Jenni Konner. It is a personal subscription newsletter full of interviews and short stories. The topic is close to Lena’s heart: modern feminism. In her own words: “we wanted  to create a space where new voices were safe to speak loudly about topics they care about […]. Mostly we want a snark-free place for feminists to get information: on how to vote, eat, dress and live better.” The first interview is impressive: none other than Hilary Rodham Clinton gets interviewed. Lena sure knows how to prepare a launch. You can read past issues or subscribe to Lenny letter here.

BACK TO JENNIFFER LAWRENCE   Picture via Giphy.com

In the 3rd Lenny letter, Jennifer Lawrence decides to write an honest piece about gender equality in the movie industry. She states her problems aren’t exactly relatable but in my opinon they are. She is a woman being paid less for the exact same work as her male counterparts. Ok, she makes a bit more than most of us do but the principle holds. Here is what she says.

” It’s hard for me to speak about my experience as a working woman because I can safely say my problems aren’t exactly relatable. When the Sony hack happened and I found out how much less I was being paid than the lucky people with dicks, I didn’t get mad at Sony. I got mad at myself. I failed as a negotiator because I gave up early. I didn’t want to keep fighting over millions of dollars that, frankly, due to two franchises, I don’t need. (I told you it wasn’t relatable, don’t hate me).” 

NEGOTIATING LIKE A BOSS

Again and again evidence proofs women are worse negotiators than men. In my previous job I had to do a  lot of deals and hence also negotiations. It became an addiction. I asked for discounts everywhere and was often successful. In the last years that has changed. Case in point: last week I ordered a new car (my excuse: I need a 5 door because the Maxi Cosi keeps on getting stuck) and managed to get nothing. No discount, no extras, really nothing.

Just ask yourself: when was the last time you got a better deal or asked for a raise?  There are a million things you can do with your time (playing with your Mini, writing on your blog, going to the gym, do some serious shopping) so why not try and get the most out of it?  Again, I would like to quote Jennifer Lawrence.

I’m over trying to find the “adorable” way to state my opinion and still be likable! Fuck that. I don’t think I’ve ever worked for a man in charge who spent time contemplating what angle he should use to have his voice heard. It’s just heard. Jeremy Renner, Christian Bale, and Bradley Cooper all fought and succeeded in negotiating powerful deals for themselves. If anything, I’m sure they were commended for being fierce and tactical, while I was busy worrying about coming across as a brat and not getting my fair share. “

Amen to that Miss Lawrence. Read the whole piece in Lenny Letter.

XOXO Floor

ps if you end up reading the whole piece, let me know what you think!

3 gedachtes over “MOMMY READS LENNY: Another reason why Jennifer Lawrence rocks

Geef een reactie

