MOMMY LOVES A CHALLENGE (&LISTS): Day Zero project

The challenge: 101 things in 1001 days. That is what the Day Zero project is all about. I got this idea through fellow blogger Another Chapter. Passionate as I am about both listography and self improvement, I immediately started to design my own list. The idea is quite simple: make a list (duh) of 101 challenges you would like to do in the next 2.74 years. The challenge: actually go out and do them! You can get ideas through the website and also maintain your list there. 

Turns out: it is actually quite hard to come up with 101 things. Below is my “work in progress” list. Right now it is very much focused on my current life so not many items about the Mini yet.  I am sure that will still change. The areas I would like to develop more are my photography, film & writing and being social.


LIFE THROUGH A LENS: PHOTOGRAPHY

I love photography but I don’t take much time to actually work on my skills and my portfolio. This is something I have been meaning to do for years but for some reason it never happens. My maternity leave definitely reignited my creativity (more on that in this post) and I have been pretty into it in the last weeks. Turns out there are so many courses, blog posts, helpful videos you can find online, it is a shame not to use them. Through the Day Zero project I learnt about the 30 day photography challenge, that I started working on right away. This challenge is about taking 30 pictures around a specific theme. I will write more about the resources I found in a separate article.

TO SEE, READ & WRITE

I don’t write about it much on the blog, because I think it is not so interesting to share which movie I saw or which book I read. In other words: I do not know how to write engaging content about these topics. But I love a good story. So I included some reading challenges (like reading books from other countries) & journaling. When I attended university, I had to study some classical literary works. And although I would not easily start reading out of my own volition, I really loved some of them (no shit Sherlock, they are called “classics” for a reason). The same goes for watching an independent movie. Whenever I end up going to see some vague French or German movie, I end up loving them. But in most cases I take the easy way and see engaging movies like “Magic Mike XXL” (whoop whoop!).

MEET UP & BEING SOCIAL

With our busy working lives, a typical day is finished around 8.30 when the dishes are done (read “in the dishwasher”) and everything is cleaned up (read “the kitchen looks somewhat acceptable”). The little time that is left of the evening, I often spent cocooning on the couch. So I am going to try to leave the television off (such a waste of time really, you always end up watching things you did not want to watch in the first place) AND spend time with people. More quality time, less technology (so no random what’s app in the spirit of ” hey, at least I asked how you were doing”).

Check out the list of 99 things below. If you have some ideas for the final 2 spots, let me know! And what do you think about the Day Zero project?

1 Send in a photograph to a contest
2 Take a picture for each letter of the alphabet
3 Have my picture taken in a photo booth
4 Make a photo collage on my wall
5 Identify 101 things which make me happy, or smile, and photograph them
6 Sell a photograph
7 Learn how to use all the functions on my camera
8 Learn how to paint with watercolour
9 Buy a piece of art from a local artist
10 Read 5 classic books
11 Participate in some type of dance class
12 Get a new hair style
13 Wear a skirt or dress every day for a week
14 Attend a music festival abroad
15 Attend the Berlin Film Festival (Germany)
16 Visit a local winery
17 Buy five cookbooks, each of a different country
18 Eat at five new restaurants
19 Go on a road trip with friends
20 Ask 20 friends to suggest one book, and read them all
21 Host a games night with friends
22 Complete a 30 Day Yoga Challenge
23 Ride my bike every day for 30 days
24 Complete a 100 Push-ups Challenge
25 Take a dance class (i.e. ballet, ballroom, swing, etc.)
26 Attend a film festival
27 Watch a movie at a drive-in
28 Compliment someone every day for a week
29 Take a free online class
30 Have a romantic candlelit dinner
31 Have a romantic weekend away in a log cabin
32 Learn how to sew a dress from a pattern
33 Volunteer in my community
34 Send a handwritten letter
35 Write a letter to myself to open at the end of my 1001 days
36 Publish an ebook
37 Write down 5 positive things that happened during the day before going to bed for one month
38 Keep a “My Day in Six Words” journal
39 Open a cookbook to a random page and make whatever is on it
40 Don’t complain about anything for a week
41 Make an iTunes playlist of 101 of my favorite songs
42 Say “yes” to something I would not normally do
43 Answer the “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind”
44 Go camping
45 Spend a day at the beach
46 See a drive-in movie
47 Go to 5 different museums
48 Learn to knit
49 Go kayaking
50 Create a scrapbook
51 Read a book in another language
52 Spend a weekend without technology
53 Don’t watch TV for a week
54 Do a 30×30 Challenge (30 minutes of physical activity for 30 days)
55 Go on a picnic
56 Keep fresh flowers in the house for a month
57 Do something sweet for my partner every day for a week
58 Surprise someone every day for a week
59 Do 30 min of exercise a day for a week
60 Throw away 3 things every day for a week
61 Wear lipstick every day for a week
62 Create a book of inspiring ideas
63 Spend a day in the sauna
64 See 5 arthouse movies
65 Spend an afternoon in Wijck
66 Go to Amsterdam for a weekend
67 Visit Paris (France)
68 Enjoy a good bottle of wine each week for a minth
69 Go to the gym 5 days out of 7
70 Do boxing routine 5 days out of 7
71 Take an art class
72 Visit an art exhibition
73 Follow an online course
74 Do movie course at Domein
75 Go to stadsverlichting
76 Go to antwerp for a day
77 Bake something every weekend for a month
78 Spend an entire day in the garden
79 Go swimming outside
80 Spend a day on a terrace
81 Go for a daily walk 7 days in a row
82 Colour in a colouring book
83 Complete 5 random assignments to inspire creativity
84 Do a short course at central saint martins
85 Take a french course
86 Reach out to a friend every day for a week
87 Organize a cocktail evening
88 Do a beer tasting
89 Enter an instagram competition
90 Do a 30 days of minimalism challenge
91 Read a different magazine every day for a week
92 Go to a tapas restaurant
93 Visit a food festival
94 Go to the theater
95 See a ballet
96 See an artist play at a small venue
97 Try out 5 new recipes in a week
98 Read and apply a self help book
99 Do a city trip
Een gedachte over “MOMMY LOVES A CHALLENGE (&LISTS): Day Zero project

Geef een reactie

