Pregnant at work: my 3 insights so far

I always thought you would get pregnant, work until roughly 4 weeks before giving birth, enjoy maternity leave and come back again. Now I know better. There is (way) more to it. Below my top 3 insights after 22 weeks of pregnancy.

JUST ACCEPT IT ALREADY

1) So they say you become tired, nauseated, experiencing all kind of discomforts (try holding your own through a 2 hour videoconference without a restroom stop) and pregnancy alzheimer. It is all true! Your body will be working against you and it is better just to give in. My schedule these days: wake up, prepare for work, work, eat, check out webshops for minis & sleep. That is about all I can manage these days. This coming from a woman who micromanages her agenda. Try and lower the bar for yourself and just accept that you can manage less.

TRY & AVOID BUSINESS TRIPS

2) I went to London a few weeks back for a very interesting innovation conference. Although it is just a one-hour flight & the hotel had a very nice pool, I was exhausted when I got back. I basically stayed in bed for an entire day just to recover. I talked to some of my colleagues and they had similar experiences. Ever since, I am not volunteering anymore to attend conferences or visit companies.

MATERNITY IS NOT THE ONLY WAY TO GO

3)  Except for pantyhose, I did not buy a single maternity item yet. Ofcourse this depends on your figure but try and not go for the maternity lines right away. In my opinion, the bump looks way nicer in normal  brands that suit your style (do try bigger sizes though).

To be continued (18 weeks to go after all).

xoxo Floor

 

Geef een reactie

